Spot the Mistake: Astrology Lesson Part 2

Do you know what astrological sign you are and what it means about you? Find out here and learn the characteristics of each sign. Then spot the mistakes in each sentence in our quiz to test your English ability in our free lesson! Don’t forget to check out part 1 of our astrology lesson for an explanation of astrology itself.

Aries (March 21 – April 20)

Aries’s constellation is the Ram and its ruling planet is Mars. It is a fire sign, meaning people born in Aries are natural leaders, take initiative, and can sometimes be impulsive and headstrong. Aries can be impatient and hate inactivity, but are very determined and honest. They are very organised and get along well with Libras and Leos.


Taurus (April 21 – May 21)

Taurus is an earth sign ruled by the planet Venus. It sits in the constellation Taurus, which is Latin for ‘Bull’. These people can be stubborn like their namesake, but also have a lot of determination. They are reliable and patient, but dislike sudden changes. Being an earth sign, they are stable and grounded. They are compatible with Scorpios and Cancers.


Gemini (May 22 – June 21)

Gemini’s constellation is the Twins, meaning that people born in this sign are often prone to mood swings, like the dual personalities of the Twins in the constellation – but they are also extremely curious and affectionate. They are air signs, making them very changeable and open minded, and are ruled by Mercury which represents communication and movement. They are very sociable and get along with Sagittarius and Aquarius.


Cancer (June 22 – July 33)

Cancer is the first water sign, ruled by the moon and its constellation is the Crab. Cancers have a very active imagination, making them great artists. They are very sensitive and intuitive. They can also be moody and often follow their emotions instead of their head, but this also makes them quick to help others and they care deeply about the people they love. They get along well with Capricorn and Taurus.


Leo (July 23 – August 21)

Another fire sign, Leo is in the constellation of the Lion. Leos are ruled by the Sun, making them passionate and cheerful. However they can also be proud and stubborn, wanting to be centre of attention. They are very self-confident and are typically great leaders with a flair for the dramatic. The courage of the lion comes out in Leos, who get along with Aquarius and Gemini.


Virgo (August 22 – September 23)

Virgo is ruled by Mercury, making those born in this sign great communicators, both speaking and writing. It is an earth sign and based in the constellation of the Virgin or the Maiden. They are usually careful people who are methodical and loyal. They dislike having to ask for help but are very hardworking. They are most compatible with Pisces and Cancer.


Libra (September 24 – October 23)

Libra’s constellation is the Scale, representing balance. Its ruling planet is Venus and is also an air sign, making those born under it indecisive at times. They tend to surround themselves with the beauty in life and are social people. They hate violence and conflict, preferring cooperation and gentleness. They get along best with Aries and Sagittarius.


Scorpio (October 24 – November 22)

Scorpios are ruled by Pluto (modern astronomers do not consider Pluto a planet, but it counts in astrology), the planet of rebirth. They are water signs and extremely passionate, but with a sharp sting like their constellation, the Scorpion. They are stubborn and enjoy being right, although they sometimes seem mysterious due to their calm exterior. They get along with Taurus and Cancer.


Sagittarius (November 23 – December 22)

Sitting in the constellation of the Archer, Sagittarius is another fire sign with a tendency to speak their mind, even when it gets them into trouble. It is ruled by Jupiter, the symbol of travel, making people born in this sign big fans of travelling who value their freedom. They are extroverted and very openminded, but can be very impatient, getting along best with Gemini and Aries.


Capricorn (December 23 – January 20)

The last earth sign, Capricorn is ruled by Saturn, making those born under it responsible but they can also be unforgiving. The constellation is a goat with the tail of a fish, an ancient god of wisdom. Capricorns are independent and like tradition. This can sometimes make them stubborn in their views but they also have a great deal of self-control. They get along with Taurus and Cancer.


Aquarius (January 21 – February 19)

Aquarius is an air sign whose constellation is the water carrier. They often seek mental stimulation and are deep thinkers, but can be eccentric and even shy. They are ruled by Uranus, making them timid but visionary; they know exactly what they want for their future. They enjoy helping other people and don’t like feeling limited, getting along best with Leo and Sagittarius.


Pisces (February 20 – March 20)

Pisces’ constellation is the two fish and it is the last water sign. They are ruled by the planet Neptune, making them artistic and compassionate. They enjoy alone time and hate being criticized, and they can also be overly trusting due to their selflessness. They are very intuitive and are often considered the most tolerant of all astrological signs. They get along with Virgo and Taurus.