Welcome to Iris, our new intern

person standing

Here is my Q&A for my new position as intern!

Q: What did you do before you came to EC Oxford?

I study in Maastricht in the Netherlands. I am now in my third year to become a translator.

Q: What is your role here in EC Oxford?

I am an intern for Student Services.

Q: What have you enjoyed about working at EC Oxford so far?

So far, I like working here. Everyone is very nice and makes me feel welcome.

Q: What do you like about Oxford as a city?

Oxford is a beautiful city. It is busy and big, but it still has quiet parts where you can calm down.

Q: What’s your hometown? Can you describe it to us?

Before I came here, I lived in Maastricht. It is a relatively big city (it is in the run to host the Song festival next year). Oxford reminds me a lot of Maastricht, because they both have the same old beautiful buildings.

Q: Our school is all about helping people who are learning English, but have you learned any other languages? How did you learn them?

I know a few languages. Dutch is my mother tongue. I also know English, Spanish, German and a bit of French. I learned English by listening to the radio and watching tv. In the Netherlands tv-shows are subtitled which makes learning English very easy. English is also a mandatory class at every school. I also took German and French classes at school. I learned Spanish from school, since I want to be a translator in Spanish and English.

Q: What do you like doing in your free time?

I my free time I like to read. I mostly read fantasy and science fiction books. I also enjoy hiking and embroidery.

Q: What are your future plans?

After my internship I want to finish my study and translate for a living. Either with a company or on my own.

Comments

comments