Lakehead University

Lakehead University

Thunder Bay, Ontario
Founded in 1965

Lakehead University is a public research university with campuses in Thunder Bay and Orillia, Ontario, Canada. It has undergraduate programs, graduate programs and is home to the western campus of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine.

Entry Routes

Programs Available

  • Bachelor's Degree
  • Master's Degree

Number of Students


Site Url

The university has nine faculties: Business Administration, Education, Engineering, Natural Resources Management, Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences, Science and Environmental Studies, Social Sciences and Humanities, Medicine, and Graduate Studies. The Faculty of Law welcomed its first students in September 2013.

By full-time undergraduate enrolment, the Social Sciences & Humanities is the largest faculty at Lakehead 29.6%, followed by Health and Behavioural Sciences 21.2%, Science & Environmental Studies 15.6%, Engineering 11.2%, Education 12.4%, Business Administration 6.4%, Natural Resources Management 1.9%, Medicine 1.7%.

Entry Requirements

  • Conditional acceptance: bachelor and master programs
  • No TOEFL or IELTS score required
  • Track required: Graduates of the agreed pathway level with EC and recommendation of the academic department

Accommodation Options

On campus residences, Off campus housing and homestay

Ranking Accreditation

Maclean’s Magazine’s annual University ranking places Lakehead in second place among Ontario’s Primarily undergraduate universities.